Since its foundation Corpus has promoted the study of Latin and Greek and remains committed to exploring the classical world.

The Centre was set up in 1993 as a focus for the College's various postgraduate activities in classical research. Amongst Oxford colleges we have the largest proportions of undergraduates studying classical subjects, permanent faculty members with classical interests, and classical graduates.

It consists of:

Senior Members – Corpus fellows, lecturers, and research associates with classical interests.

Graduate Members – Corpus graduate students in Classics and cognate fields. 

Associate Members – Classical scholars based in Oxford who are not members of a college and who maintain a close relationship with the Centre.

Visiting Senior Members – Visiting Fellows and Scholars of Corpus with classical interests.

Visiting Associate Members - Classical scholars and graduate students who are visiting Oxford for a short period of time. 

The Centre organises the Corpus Christi Classical Seminar Series in Michaelmas, Hilary and Trinity Terms each year, conferences, one-off lectures and occasional social events.

Centre Personnel

Director | Professor Marion Durand
Associate Director | Henner Petin

Permanent Senior Members: Ewen Bowie; Anna Clark; Marion Durand; Jaś Elsner; Constanze Güthenke; Stephen Harrison; Neil McLynn; Judith Olszowy-Schlanger; Giuseppe Pezzini; Tobias Reinhardt; Kathryn Stevens. 

Temporary Senior Members: Stefano Cianciosi; Daniel Etches-Jones; Alexandra Hardwick; Simon Day; Emily Rutherford; Rachel Wood; Alexandre Johnston.

Honorary Members: Ursula Coope; Nick Denyer; Sir Claude Hankes KCVO; Philip Hardie; James Howard-Johnston; Jonathan Kagan; John Ma; Glenn Most; Robin Osborne; Alice Oswald; Alexia Petsalis-Diomidis; David Sedley; Catherine Steel; Christopher Taylor; Rod Thomson; Andrew Wallace-Hadrill; Ute Wartenburg Kagan; Tim Whitmarsh; Michael Winterbottom.