Corpus Christi College Oxford

Follow Corpus Christi College Oxford on Facebook

The Corpus Christi College Centre for the Study of Greek and Roman Antiquity

The Centre was set up in 1993 to provide a focus and umbrella organisation for the College's various postgraduate activities in classical research (the area of ‘classics' being very widely defined). Corpus, founded in 1517 partly to promote the newly revived study of Latin and Greek in Oxford, remains firmly committed to the study of the classical world in all its forms. Amongst Oxford colleges it has the largest proportions of undergraduates studying classical subjects, of permanent faculty members with classical interests, and of classical graduates. These last groups form the core of the Centre: all the College's Fellows and lecturers with classical interests are ex officio Senior Members, and all classical graduate students at Corpus are automatically Members; other categories include Visiting Members (short-term visiting graduates and academics) and Associate Members (classical scholars without other UK departmental affiliation). The Centre organises two series of seminars in Michaelmas and Hilary Terms each year (the Corpus Christi Classical Seminar, founded 1980). It also stages other conferences, one-off seminars and lectures (and social events!) from time to time.

Centre Personnel

Director: Neil McLynn
Associate Director: Sarah Hitch

Senior members: Kalina Allendorf, Ewen Bowie, Anna Clark, Ursula Coope, Wolfgang de Melo, Jas' Elsner, Sam Gartland, Constanze Güthenke, Stephen Harrison, Sarah Hitch, James Howard-Johnston, John Ma, Neil McLynn, Anna Marmodoro, Alexia Petsalis-Diomidis, Tobias Reinhardt, Sophie Schoess; Mark Whittow.

Click here for research interests of the permanent Senior Members

Honorary Members: Robert Guy, Sir Claude Hankes KCVO, Glenn Most, Robin Osborne, Peter Rhodes, Christopher Taylor, Michael Winterbottom, Philip Hardie, Rod Thomson, Andrew Wallace-Hadrill, Tim Whitmarsh. Nigel Wilson, Catherine Steel

Associate members: Lucia Athanassaki; Arezou Azad; Silvia Barbantani; Sam Barnish; David Blackman; Joan Booth; Sheldon Brammall, Hannah Burgess; Louise Calder; Sanne Rishoj Christensen; Chris Collard; Anthony Comfort, Helen Eastman; Michael Featherstone; Marco Fernandelli; Richard  Finn; Almut Fries; Peter Haarer, Sandy Hardie; Sybille Haynes; Geraldine Herbert-Brown; Charlotte Higgins; Tom Holland; Sally Humphreys; Jonathan Kagan; Philip Kinns; Chryse Kotsifou; Norbert Kunisch; Marie Legende; Biete Liang; Jenny March; Paraskevi Martzavou; Tim Mitford; Philip Mottram; Hendrik Müller; Arietta Papaconstantinou; Paul Pheby; Tessa Rajak; Peter Rhodes; Sandra Romano Martin; Tessa Roynon; Albert Schachter; Neil Sewell-Rutter; Claudia Strobel; Riet Van Bremen; Ute Wartenburg Kagan; Mary Whitby.

Visiting members: Andreas Ammann; Nicola Barham; Magdalena Bosch; Iris Brecke; Virginia Campbell; Sanne Christensen; Mark de Kreij; Victor Ferry; Adir Fonseca; Nicholas Henck; Greta Kádas; Mayuko Kawata; Christian Kietzmann; Michael Konaris; Richard Kraut; Kristoffer Larsen; Aline Lazaro; Jakob Lenz; Vanessa monteventi; Jeffrey Murray; Miku Nakagawa; Thierry Oppeneer; Camilla Paulino da Silva; Consuelo Ruiz Montero; Camille Semenzato; Susana Dubois Silva; Peter Astrup Sundt; Thea Thorsen; Madalina Toca; Taro Tomoi; Nadine Viermann; Jack Welch; Ruobing Xian.

Graduate members:  Anna Blomley; Emily Clifford; Ben Kolbeck; Celynne Mathieu; Sarah Norvell; Elizabeth Ridgeway

Network Design